Menace Beach reveal ‘Black Rainbow Sound’

Leeds’ Menace Beach return with the first taste of their upcoming third album Black Rainbow Sound in the form of the stunning title track. Pairing post-punk stutters with a dizzying range of analogue synth, it marks a brave departure from the sound the group made their name with.

Much like fellow Leeds group Hookworms, Black Rainbow Sound promises to take an intriguing left turn to indulge in no-wave synths and match them with tight, motorik rhythms. Expansive and lustrous, the synths weave a textured background for Menace Beach’s reliably catchy hooks.

The track also features Brix Smith of the Fall. Speaking of the chance collaboration, the band add: ‘The synchronicity of the universe just forced us and Brix together. The very day l finished reading her biography she played us on her BBC 6music show along with a wonderfully out-there monologue of how the song made her feel. I said thanks, we got chatting and it went from there. She’s a burning comet of positive energy’.

While it might be black by name, this album looks set to be incredible colourful. Hear ‘Black Rainbow Sound’ below, alongside more album details.



1. Black Rainbow Sound (ft. Brix Smith)
2. Satellite
3. Crawl in Love
4. Tongue
5. Mutator
6. 8000 Molecules
7. Hypnotiser Keeps the Ball Rolling
8. Holy Crow
9. Watermelon
10. (Like) Rainbow Juice (ft. Brix Smith)

Live Dates:

18 Oct – Derby, The Hairy Dog
20 Oct – Birmingham, Hare & Hounds
22 Oct – Glasgow, Broadcast
23 Oct – Newcastle, The Cluny 2
24 Oct – Manchester, Deaf Institute
25 Oct – London, Oslo
26 Oct – Bristol, Rough Trade
27 Oct – Sheffield, Picture House Social
02 Nov – Leeds, Brudenell Social Club

Album artwork:

Menace Beach - Black Rainbow Sound artwork