What’s New? Emma McGrath – Love You Better

Emma McGrath has been writing since a young age and has been releasing some high quality stuff since 2014. Her previous releases such as ‘The Judgement’ and ‘Sit With Me’, were picked up by the likes of BBC Introducing who made it their track of the week and Dermot O’Leary on Radio 2. Since then, she’s been hard at work grafting on tracks and networking around town. PRS for Music, soon recognised her as an artist with a future awarding her the prestigious ‘Women make Music’ grant last year.

Now with continued support from Balcony TV, Radio X and Sofar Sounds, the young Londoner is back on the scene with an EP that’s – to use a cliche – way beyond her years.

The first single is the warm and emotive ‘Love You Better’ and fans of Tash Sultana will want to get amongst this. Beach-vibes guitar licks provide the foundation for Emma’s soulful and rich vocal line. The track builds with a sad melancholy, then expertly delivers a groove towards the tail end of the track. Sublime work from the young songwriter.

“It’s an interesting song, that can be viewed in two different ways. The lyrics “I can love you better in the long run” have juxtaposing meanings – “I’ll become a better person” or “I’m better than that person”. It says a lot about the attitude of an individual in love.”

LIVE DATES:

Mon 5 February – Wylam Brewery, Newcastle Upon Tyne
Tue 6 February – O2 Academy 2 Liverpool, Liverpool
Wed 7 February – Tivoli, Buckley
Fri 9 February – Westgate Hall, Canterbury
Sat 10 February – O2 Academy Islington, London
Mon 12 February – Concorde 2, Brighton
Tue 13 February – Waterfront, Norwich
Wed 14 February – The Fleece, Bristol
Thu 15 February – O2 Academy Oxford, Oxford
Fri 16 February – The Brook, Southampton
Sat 17 February – The Junction, Cambridge
Wed 28 February – The Mermaid, St. Albans

One thought on “What’s New? Emma McGrath – Love You Better

Leave a Reply