Preoccupations share ‘Espionage’, announce new album

Stop what you’re doing; Preoccupations are back. Last seen in 2016 with somehow their third debut album (name changes are a tricky business), the aptly named New Material is scheduled for release March 23rd.

The news arrives with the first taste of the album, ‘Espionage’, a further dig into their labyrinthine post-punk, littered with industrial stabs and cutting synths. A chanted call-and-answer chorus tops the track, pushing into ear-worm territory.

Whilst as familiarly bleak as anything they’ve released, ‘Espionage’’s icy angles sound like they’re beginning to thaw with a hint of hope breaking through their densely patterned wall of sound. It’ll leave you unable to think of anything else – completely preoccupied. 

Tracklist for New Material:

  1. Espionage
  2. Decompose
  3. Disaray
  4. Manipulation
  5. Antidote
  6. Solace
  7. Doubt
  8. Compliance

New Material is expected March 23rd via Jagjagwar.